什么是二手寿险保单(TLP)和二手储蓄保单(TEP)?

二手寿险保单(TLP)
二手寿险保单是指保单持有人不退保,但转售给投资者的寿险保单。

二手储蓄保单(TEP)
二手储蓄保单是指保单持有人不退保,但转售给投资者的储蓄保单。二手储蓄保单通常都是分红储蓄保单。

二手寿险保单和二手储蓄保单是如何进入市场的?
当保单持有人决定套现他的人寿或储蓄保单时,他可以转售给想要买保单的个人或公司(中介)。这样的中介通常会给出比保险公司退保额更高的开价,他们也可以再将保单转售。

中介也可以将保单和其他人寿或储蓄保单打包,组成集体投资计划(Collective Investment Scheme,基金,或公司实体。

在转售的过程中,并没有产生新的人寿或储蓄保单,交易双方只是使用了现存的二手保单。

在转售的过程中会发生什么呢
在转售过程中,保单的所有权和收益都会从原来的保单持有人转给购买保单的投资者。支付保费的义务也会转给想要购买保单并可能再转售的投资者或中介。然而最初的受保人并不会改变。

当二手人寿或储蓄保单被打包组成集体投资计划(Collective Investment Scheme),基金或公司实体时,购买这些集体投资计划(Collective Investment Scheme),基金或公司实体的投资者也同时间接购买了其对应的二手人寿或储蓄保单。

收购二手人寿和二手储蓄保单后需要承担的义务
收购二手人寿和储蓄保单的投资者必须像之前的保单持有人一样支付保费。作为回报,保险公司在保险到期或原始受保人去世时,将按照保险条款支付给投资者相应数额。

中介
转售保单的过程会涉及以下两种中介:

  1. “分销商”,辅助二手人寿和储蓄保单转售的公司或个人;和
  2. 再转售或打包转售二手人寿或储蓄保单给分销商的公司或个人。
    在一些情况中,这两种中介可为同一家公司或同一人。

在新加坡或境外收购,再转售或打包转售二手人寿或储蓄保单的中介并不在新加坡金融管理局(MAS)的监管范围内。在新加坡或境外的二手保单分销商也不在MAS的监管范围内。目前在新加坡注册的人寿保险公司并不会从保单持有人手中买回的保单再转售,也不会分销二手人寿或储蓄保单。

二手人寿或储蓄保单在MAS的监管范围内吗?收购,再转售或打包转售二手人寿或储蓄保单在MAS的监管范围内吗?

不在。MAS并没有任何规定监管二手保单的转售,收购和分销。这意味着任何个人和公司都可以不在MAS的监管下收购或分销保单,也不需要MAS授权执照。

唯一的例外是,如果集体投资计划(Collective Investment Scheme),基金或公司实体需要遵守证券期货法(Securities and Futures Act),二手保单又是这些集体投资计划(Collective Investment Scheme),基金或公司实体的组成部分,那么这些二手保单的交易也处在MAS的监管下遵守着证券期货法。

意义
MAS强烈建议购买投资产品的投资者只与在MAS监管下的个人或公司进行交易。更多信息请参考MAS消费者指南:“Pitfalls of Dealing with Unregulated Persons”。

投资者也可以参考消费者保护(公平交易)法(“CPFTA”),当消费者感到被不公平对待时,CPFTA指导消费者在向法庭提出诉讼,寻求民事解决办法。关于CPFTA的更多信息请参考:贸工部(Ministry of Trade and Industry ,"MTI")网站, 点击阅读

Yield To Maturity

YTM is up to 4.5% p.a. when you invest in Purvis Traded Endowment & Life Policies of 10 year tenure, compared, to a new policy with an average of less than 3% p.a.

What Are Traded Life Policies And Traded Endowment Policies?

Traded Life Policy
A traded life policy (“TLP”) is a life policy that has been sold by the original policy owner to an investor other than the insurer itself. TLPs are also commonly known as ‘second-hand’ life policies.

Traded Endowment Policy
A traded endowment policy (“TEP”) is commonly known as a ‘second-hand’ endowment policy . It is an endowment policy that has been sold by the original policy owner to an investor other than the insurer itself. TEPs are often participating endowment policies.

How is a TLP or a TEP Brought to Market?
When a policy holder decides to liquidate his life or endowment policy, he may do so via an individual or company who wants to buy the policy for re-sale. Such an intermediary usually offers to buy a life or endowment policy at a price higher than the policies’ surrender value as offered by the insurer. The intermediary may re-sell the policy to a further investor.

The intermediary may also choose to package the policy together with other life or endowment policies to form the underlying investment of a Collective Investment Scheme (“CIS”), a fund, or a corporate entity.

Throughout the buying process, only existing policies purchased from the original policy holders are used. No new life or endowment policy is created in this process.

What Happens in a Sale
In the sale, both the ownership and benefits of the policy are transferred from the original policy owner to the investor. The obligation of paying the policy premium is transferred either to the investor or an intermediary who has purchased and is holding on to the policies with the intention of re-selling them to a further investor. However, the original life insured remains unchanged.

Where policies have been packaged together with other life or endowment policies to form the underlying investment of a CIS, a fund, or a corporate entity, an investor that buys into such a CIS, fund, or corporate entity would indirectly be buying into the underlying TLPs or TEPs.

Obligations when purchasing TLPs and TEPs
A TLP or TEP investor must pay the policy premiums just as if he were the original policy owner. In turn, the insurance company must pay out the benefits based on the terms in the policy contract to the investor when the policy matures or the original life insured passes on.

The obligations of the intermediary to an investor are set out in the contract signed when the TLP or TEP is purchased. Investors should read all the terms and conditions of any contractual document, and make sure they understand the legal implications of entering into any agreement. Investors should not buy the TLP or TEP if they are uncertain about the terms or implications of the contract.

Intermediaries
There are two types of intermediaries involved in the trading of policies, namely:

  1. the company or individual, known as the “distributor”, which facilitates the sale of the TLP or TEP to investors; and
  2. the company or individual, which buys policies from policy holders and re-sells or packages the policies as TLPs or TEPs to provide to the distributor.
    In certain cases, the individual or company that provides the TLP or TEP to the distributor and the distributor itself may be the same entity.

Intermediaries that buy policies from policy holders and re-sell or package the policies as TEPs or TLPs are not regulated by MAS, whether they are based overseas or in Singapore. Distributors of TEPs and TLPs are also not regulated by MAS, regardless of whether they are based overseas or in Singapore. Currently, registered life insurers in Singapore do not buy policies from policy holders for re-sale, and also do not distribute TLPs and TEPs.

Are TLPs And TEPs Regulated By MAS? Is The Buying Of Policies And The Resale Or Packaging Of Such Policies Into TLPs And TEPs Regulated By MAS?

No. There are no MAS administered regulations which govern the sale, purchase and distribution of TLPs and TEPs. This means that any individual or company involved in buying or distributing these policies is not regulated or licensed by MAS.

The only exception to this is if a CIS, a fund or a corporate entity is already regulated under the Securities and Futures Act (SFA), and TLPs and TEPs form the underlying assets of the CIS, fund or corporate entity. In such cases, the CIS, the fund or the corporate entity would be regulated by MAS under the SFA.

Implications
MAS strongly encourages investors who purchase investment products to deal only with individuals and companies that are regulated by MAS. For more information, investors may refer to the MAS’ consumer guide on “Pitfalls of Dealing with Unregulated Persons“.

However, investors can seek recourse under the Consumer Protection (Fair Trading) Act (“CPFTA”). The CPFTA allows consumers aggrieved by unfair practices to have recourse to civil remedies before the courts. For more information on the CPFTA, please refer to the Ministry of Trade and Industry (“MTI”) website, click here to view the article.

Yield To Maturity

YTM is up to 4.5% p.a. when you invest in Purvis Traded Endowment & Life Policies of 10 year tenure, compared, to a new policy with an average of less than 3% p.a.